Get Involved

Do you want to be part of the SOLUTION to end slumlording in Omaha for good?

There are several things that you can do RIGHT NOW to eradicate slumlording from Omaha.

  • Email or call your state senator and tell them that you are concerned about slum conditions in rental units. Senators are currently voting on LB 85, a bill that will require mandatory rental inspections in Omaha. Currently, no rental units are inspected in Omaha, unless a tenant complains. Many tenants are terrified to make formal complaints or do not know their rights or who to call.  If Omaha had mandatory rental inspections, slumlording would no longer be allowed, as it would be caught and forced to be corrected. To find out who your state senator is, enter your address on this website: https://nebraskalegislature.gov/senators/senator_find.php

 

  • Email your city councilperson and tell them that you want slumlording and substandard rental housing to stop. Tell them that you support mandatory rental inspections. Our city council is currently considering making a plan to deal with the substandard housing crisis. They NEED to hear from citizens that this is important and something we want them to focus on. Below is the contact information for all of the councilmembers. Don’t know who your councilperson is?  Visit the city’s website and use their map tool to find out what district you live in.

District 1: Pete Festersen Phone: 402-444-5527

email: Pete.Festersen@cityofomaha.org

District 2: Ben Gray Phone: 402-444-5524

email: Ben.Gray@cityofomaha.org

District 3: Chris Jerram Phone: 402-444-5525

email: Chris.Jerram@cityofomaha.org

District 4: Vinny Palermo Phone: 402-444-5522

email: Vinny.Palermo@cityofomaha.org

District 5: Rich Pahls Phone: 402-444-5528

email: Rich.Pahls@cityofomaha.org

District 6: Brinker Harding Phone: 402-444-5523

email: Brinker.Harding@cityofomaha.org

District 7: Aimee Melton Phone: 402-444-5526

email: Aimee.Melton@cityofomaha.org

 

  • Call the Mayor’s Hotline and let our Mayor know that ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. We want slumlording to stop in Omaha. Call: 402-444-5000

DxEyv2qU8AEt0yu

 

  • Do you know someone living in substandard rental housing? First, let them know there is help out there. Provide them with the information provided in our Get Help section. Encourage them to take pictures and videos of what they are living with and send it to us: help@wedontslum.com. You can also post pictures on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter with the hashtag: #wedontslum. We will send all pictures sent to us (and posted with the hashtag) to our Mayor, Jean Stothert, and the city council. We will also post them anonymously on this website. The more AWARENESS we can raise about slum rental properties, the closer we get to CHANGE happening!
Advertisements